The Seven Dimensions of Wellness

There are seven dimensions of wellness: physical, emotional, spiritual, environmental, social, intellectual and occupational. One can reach an optimal level of wellness by understanding how to maintain and enhance each dimension of wellness.

Physical Wellness

Physical wellness is achieved through exercise, eating well, getting enough sleep and paying attention to the signs of illness and getting help when needed.

Emotional Wellness

Emotional wellness relates to understanding your feelings and coping effectively with stress. It is important to pay attention to self-care, relaxation, stress reduction and the development of inner resources so you can learn and grow from experiences.

Occupational Wellness

Occupational wellness is about enjoying your work and appreciating your contributions. Occupational wellness encourages personal satisfaction and enrichment through work.

Spiritual Wellness

Spiritual wellness allows you to develop a set of values that help you seek meaning and purpose.  It also means knowing which resources to use to cope with issues that come up in everyday life.

Environmental Wellness

Environmental wellness encourages you to respect the gentle balance between yourself and the environment.

Social Wellness

Social wellness helps you preform social roles effectively and comfortably. This dimension of wellness allows you to not only develop promising relationships with peers, but also intimate relationships with romantic partners.

Intellectual Wellness

Intellectual wellness involves having an open mind when you encounter new ideas and continuing to expand your knowledge. It encourages active participation in scholastic, cultural and community activities.

Check back soon for more information on how you can enhance each of the seven dimensions of wellness.